About camera trips in the brain and blind spots

What do we see? And how much does the picture in our mind have to do with reality? These questions have always interested me aside from my work as a photographer of people and for publicity purposes. The stimulus to find an artist answer came from the photo “Touch of Red”, taken 30 years ago in Paris.

What is it all about? The human being has very selective vision. We only see a tiny portion of our field of vision in focus. Our eyes take a sort of camera trip and the brain composes a lot of individual pictures to one general impression. The picture in our heads is therefore not a true reflection of reality but always the way that reality is interpreted by our brains. With my PhotoArt I try to recover this route of picture processing in the brain, to make all the “blind spots”, out-of-focus images and movement visible again.

The “magic moment”, the ability (and the luck) to recognise and capture the right motive will always be the basis of any good photo. But the technical tools available today are a treasure trove for me. Digital tools open up fascinating new possibilities that I could hardly have dreamed of before: aesthetic exaggeration of everyday motives, extreme colour sensitivity or superimposed realities and time levels. I can almost work like an artist with colour, light and shape.

Since “Touch of Red”, PhotoArt has become the expression of the world I live in, a fascinating playground for fantasy and experimentation. Chance is a strong ally when creating pictures, and I am happy to take full advantage of good chances. One such example are the animal themes that I rediscovered for myself. New York and the Masai Mara inspired me during my visits. Now Capricorn & Co. frolic in urban alleyways and give a new and surprising dimension to my New York impressions.

Like many creative people in the post-modern era the multiple manifestations of life inspire me. Fortunately for a photographer, we live in a visually transcendent world so that the river of ideas and inspirations never dries up.

Exhibitions:

2017  Mallorca, Clinica Picasso, Moviments Aleatoris
2017  Mallorca, Park Hyatt Mallorca, Moviments Aleatoris
2016  Mallorca, Capdepera, Moviments Aleatoris
2016  Mallorca, Alcúdia, Moviments Aleatoris
2016  Mallorca, Palma, Moviments Aleatoris
2015  Düsseldorf, GAP 15, Inspirations
2014  Mallorca, Inca, “Sehreise”
2014  Düsseldorf, RAG Greisbach, “Lichtblicke”
2013  Düsseldorf, GAP 15, “Sehreise”
2013  Düsseldorf, re.ac.me., “Sehreise”
2013  Düsseldorf, Druckstudio, “Sehreise”
2013  Düsseldorf, Atelier Schäfer, “Sehreise”
2012  Capdepera, Inspirations
2012  Mallorca, Galeria K, urban animals
2010  Mallorca, Galeria K
2009  Mallorca, Landscape
2008  Mallorca, Mallorca Inspirations
2008  Mallorca, New York
2007  Düsseldorf, New York
2006  Düsseldorf, Stilwerk, Interieur Abstract / rüsing und rüsing
2005  Australien, Perth, Light and Inside
2004  Düsseldorf, Stilwerk, Orange Monday / rüsing und rüsing
2003  Ratingen Golfclub, Bewegung und Zeit
2002  Hösel Golfclub, Bewegung und Zeit
2001  Düsseldorf, Stilwerk, Bewegung und Zeit
1999  Barcelona, BMW Autosalon
1998  Düsseldorf, Light & Insight Galerie
1997  Duisburg, LVA, Objekt–Installation
1997  Art Multiple, Objekt–Design
1996  Berlin, Spree Forum, Projektion
1995  Art Multiple Insight
1994  Köln, Photokina, Farben und Formen
1991  Düsseldorf, Experimentelle Fotos
1986  Köln, Photokina, Menschen in der Werbung
1982  Schottland, Landschaften im Widerspruch
1979  London, Portraits
1978  Beverungen, Ausdruck des Sehens
1977  Teheran, Menschen in Europa

“During the creative process of digital editing, coincidence is a mighty ally.”

Über Kamerafahrten im Gehirn und Blind Spots

Wie sehen wir? Und wie viel hat das Bild in unserem Kopf mit der Realität zu tun? Diese Fragen haben mich neben meiner Arbeit als People- und Werbefotograf immer interessiert. Den Anstoß, eine künstlerische Antwort darauf zu finden, gab das Foto „Touch of Red“, aufgenommen vor 30 Jahren in Paris.

Worum geht es? Der Mensch sieht in Wirklichkeit selektiv. Nur einen winzigen Ausschnitt unseres Gesichtsfeldes sehen wir scharf. Die Augen machen gewissermaßen eine Kamerafahrt, und das Gehirn setzt viele Einzelbilder zu einem Gesamteindruck zusammen. Unser Bild im Kopf ist also kein korrektes Abbild der Wirklichkeit, sondern immer eine Interpretation der Realität unseres Gehirns. Mit meiner PhotoArt versuche ich, diesen Prozess der Bildverarbeitung im Gehirn wieder zurück zu spulen; all die “blind spots”, Unschärfen und Bewegungen wieder sichtbar zu machen.

Zwar bleiben der “magische Moment” und die Fähigkeit (und das Glück), das richtige Motiv zu erkennen und festzuhalten, die Grundlage für jedes gute Foto. Dennoch spielen mir die heute verfügbaren technischen Möglichkeiten natürlich in die Hände. Digitale Werkzeuge eröffnen faszinierende Möglichkeiten, die ich mir früher kaum vorstellen konnte: ästhetische Überhöhungen banaler Motive, übersteigerte Farbwirkungen oder Schichtungen unterschiedlicher Wirklichkeiten und Zeitebenen. So kann ich fast wie ein Maler mit Farbe, Licht und Formen agieren.

Seit „Touch of Red“ ist die PhotoArt Ausdruck meiner Erlebniswelt, faszinierendes Spielfeld für Fantasie und Experimentierfreude.  Bei der Entstehung der Bilder ist der Zufall ein mächtiger Verbündeter, auf den ich mich immer wieder gern verlasse. Ein Beispiel sind die Tiermotive, die ich ganz neu für mich entdeckt habe. New York und die Masai Mara haben mich bei meine Besuchen inspiriert. Jetzt tummeln sich Steinbock & Co in urbanen Straßenschluchten und geben meinen New York Impressionen eine neue überraschende Dimension.

Wie viele Kreative in der Postmoderne inspirieren mich die vielfältigen Erscheinungsformen des Lebens. Zum Glück für einen Fotografen leben wir in einer visuell übersteigerten Welt, was den Fluss an Ideen und Inspirationen nie versiegen lässt.

Ausstellungen:

2017  Mallorca, Clinica Picasso, Moviments Aleatoris
2017  Mallorca, Park Hyatt Mallorca, Moviments Aleatoris
2016  Mallorca, Capdepera, Moviments Aleatoris
2016  Mallorca, Alcúdia, Moviments Aleatoris
2016  Mallorca, Palma, Moviments Aleatoris
2015  Düsseldorf, GAP 15, Inspirations
2014  Mallorca, Inca, “Sehreise”
2014  Düsseldorf, RAG Greisbach, “Lichtblicke”
2013  Düsseldorf, GAP 15, “Sehreise”
2013  Düsseldorf, re.ac.me., “Sehreise”
2013  Düsseldorf, Druckstudio, “Sehreise”
2013  Düsseldorf, Atelier Schäfer, “Sehreise”
2012  Capdepera, Inspirations
2012  Mallorca, Galeria K, urban animals
2010  Mallorca, Galeria K
2009  Mallorca, Landscape
2008  Mallorca, Mallorca Inspirations
2008  Mallorca, New York
2007  Düsseldorf, New York
2006  Düsseldorf, Stilwerk, Interieur Abstract / rüsing und rüsing
2005  Australien, Perth, Light and Inside
2004  Düsseldorf, Stilwerk, Orange Monday / rüsing und rüsing
2003  Ratingen Golfclub, Bewegung und Zeit
2002  Hösel Golfclub, Bewegung und Zeit
2001  Düsseldorf, Stilwerk, Bewegung und Zeit
1999  Barcelona, BMW Autosalon
1998  Düsseldorf, Light & Insight Galerie
1997  Duisburg, LVA, Objekt–Installation
1997  Art Multiple, Objekt–Design
1996  Berlin, Spree Forum, Projektion
1995  Art Multiple Insight
1994  Köln, Photokina, Farben und Formen
1991  Düsseldorf, Experimentelle Fotos
1986  Köln, Photokina, Menschen in der Werbung
1982  Schottland, Landschaften im Widerspruch
1979  London, Portraits
1978  Beverungen, Ausdruck des Sehens
1977  Teheran, Menschen in Europa

„Beim kreativen Prozess der digitalen Bearbeitung ist der Zufall ein mächtiger Verbündeter.“